Reviews

The talented team at Jesse's, Cirencester

.

Below are just a few of the comments we have received…

“Really lovely bistro”
What a delight. We were a group of 6 and we were all very pleased with our choices. The menu isn’t big and they concentrate on quality as opposed to trying to give too much choice on the menu. All 6 of us enjoyed starters such as scallops or crab and mains such as sea bass fillet and shepherds pie like you have never experienced before – cant remember the other choices as too busy tasting the shepherds pie! Desserts were amazing too. The staff were friendly and made you feel very welcome. Would thoroughly recommend.
Visited March 2014

“We love Jesse’s Bistro!”
We love Jesse’s Bistro and have dined there many times! We would recommend the restaurant to all of our friends. It is the best dining place in Cirencester!
The staff is always making you feel warm and welcome! They understand the importance of keeping your dining experience on the highest level. You are not just another customer. This restaurant is not just about the head count, but about the dining experience and making your evening all together fabulous!
Menu is always fantastic and regularly updated with in-season produce! If you want a good steak while you in Cirencester, do go to Jesse’s! It is melting in your mouth! Food is always fresh and cooked to perfection! Chefs are innovative, and boring is definitely not something you will experience in this restaurant. Bread is always home made with all sorts of flavours (beetroot and chocolate is my favourite)! Extensive wine list will satisfy everyone!
We have been customers of Jesse’s for over 6 years now, and they have not disappointed us once! We love it!
Visited February 2014

“Delicious food, warm and welcoming.”
Having never been to Cirencester. We popped in having stumbled upon the quaint building, looking for a late lunch. We arrived around when the lunch service should have ended and were the only customers. We couldn’t have been made more welcome. The staff were attentive and genuine. The aperitif wine was excellent, as was the local craft lager. The soup starter was full of flavour and generously sized with excellent fresh bread. The same can be said for the prawn coctail. Our main courses were again well seasoned, perfectly cooked and perfectly sized and clearly made with fresh, quality produce. I can imagine when the place is full for dinner it must be a lovely atmosphere. Especially with the beautiful wood fire in the kitchen. Thanks for a great experience, we Will definitely return.
Visited March 2014

“Excellent food carefully chosen and cooked and graciously served.”
We booked for 5/ 6 and actually were 4 when we arrived, they were gracious in saying don’t worry and quickly changed our table to 4. Delicious interesting menu, relaxed and cheerful service and we all enjoyed a fabulous meal in lovely surroundings with calm and friendly service. The menu was interesting and a pleasant change to see a selection of choices carefully chosen and not run of the mill! Definitely worth a visit.
Visited February 2014

“Perfectly cooked fish, and the chips were to die for”
We had lunch on a quiet Thursday in February. I started with the leek and sweet potato soup which was a bit on the thin side although had a lovely flavour. My husband said his fish was perfectly cooked and the tartare sauce the best he’d ever had. And the chips were amazing, so perfectly cooked – light and fluffy inside and lovely and crisp outside. I had to order a side dish for myself. My friend was very impressed with her double cooked cheese soufflé. My crab and crayfish tian was excellent. The sticky toffee pudding was very good but not quite up to the high standard of the very first one I had in Jessie’s a couple of years ago. (The first one had discernable pieces of date inside the sponge.) I particularly like that it comes with a good size pool of sauce not just a smear on the plate. The accompanying breadcrumb ice cream was excellent. The staff were a delight and very attentive.

There is a good wine list but unfortunately two of us were driving so we couldn’t indulge. The restaurant is small but has a good atmosphere. The food isn’t cheap but I don’t mind that when it’s consistently good. Jessie’s and Made By Bob are my current favourite lunch spots. Jessie’s is worth a visit for the chips alone.
Visited February 2014

“An unexpected pleasure”
Found this by accident one lunchtime on our way to Cowley Manor. The plan was a light, quick lunch. In fact, we were so taken by the premises, the menu and the staff that we ate rather more substantially. It was excellent – from the home-made bread to the steak with oxtail bonbon and girolles. Wine by the glass was also excellent and reasonably priced. Very, very good. Wish it was closer to our home.
Visited January 2014

“Fantastic lunch meeting”
I had organised a lunch with two potential suppliers and I wanted to impress them. I had reserved a table set aside so not be be overheard and this was done. The service was very friendly and sharp, the two young ladies were efficient, warm and discreet. the food and wines hit the spot, the fish was cooked to perfection and the chocolate pudding a beauty, the salt caramel ice cream (made by the chef) was simply divine. Will be back very soon.
Visited January 2014

“Best restaurant in Cirencester”
Have eaten here a couple of times now, lovely gentle staff (you definitely know you’re out of London) serve some of the freshest, tastiest food I’ve ever eaten. This is the perfect venue for lunches that linger over a few bottles of wine. I can’t wait for my next visit.
Reviewed 30 December 2013

“Regular visitor”
My wife and I have been dining here since they opened and have loved every meal we have had. We have always been made welcome, the service has been excellent, the ambience just what we wanted and the food simply and perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. Having eaten in “expensive” restaurants all over the world on work, I love returning to Jesse’s Bistro for a wonderful meal. I thoroughly recommend a visit.
Visited December 2013

“Best restaurant in Cirencester”
Have eaten here a couple of times now, lovely gentle staff (you definitely know you’re out of London) serve some of the freshest, tastiest food I’ve ever eaten. This is the perfect venue for lunches that linger over a few bottles of wine. I can’t wait for my next visit.
Visited November 2013

“Good atmosphere,location and nice food”
We had an enjoyable lunch with some friends. The location is in the centre of town and so is very convenient. We liked the interior and the atmosphere. Service was good despite it being a very busy lunchtime. Food was good quality with choice on each course.
Visited November 2013

“First class example of cooking and hospitality.”
An afternoon’s shopping necessitated finding somewhere decent for lunch and after wandering into an attractive courtyard we luckily found Jesse’s. What a delight,we were quickly seated by a welcome woodburner, chilly outside, soon had our drinks and our orders taken. Delicious soup for starters and main courses of belly pork and fish pie, all made with quality ingredients by some skilled hands at the stoves. Too full for desserts, finished off with decent coffee and beautiful homemade truffles. Busy bistro with a very pleasant atmosphere and a level of service that is a credit to the management. A return visit is already being planned!

“Great Service and great food!!”
I went a little over a year ago now, but when I went there was great food, and great service. Located just next to Jesse Smith’s butcher, you would expect the meat to be good, and it was!

“Fabulous food and service”
We were really treated well and the food/wine was worth every penny – It makes a change to have such a great restaurant close to home. Plentiful taxis enabled us both to enjoy all on offer without the worry of one having to drive. The best thing about the evening was the superb service – Many thanks to all at Jesse’s.
Reviewed 24 June 2013

“Jesse’s is terrific!”
My four friends and I have been visiting the Cirencester area for over 30 years for a week’s fishing holiday. We always like to finish with a good meal on the Friday evening before going our separate ways the next morning. We have always been disappointed by the quality of the various restaurants/gastro pubs we have used – until this year!

Jesse’s is way better than any previous venue we have tried. The premises themselves are full of character and very comfortable. The maître d’ (Jesse himself?) was charming, welcoming and accommodating. The waiting staff were very young but personable ,knowledgeable and helpful. The food was superb with the best of ingredients, beautifully cooked and presented and skilfully served. We had a most pleasant evening and I have no hesitation in recommending Jesse’s without reservation.
Reviewed 24 June 2013

“Excellent Food and Proprietor”
We celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at Jesse’s Bistro in Cirencester and were delighted with the food, the understated elegance and the proprietor who greets and makes sure everything is going well. We read about the restaurant in our guidebook and knew it was the right place to go for a special event. The proprietor is very knowledgeable about wine and has a beautifully selected collection available, especially French vintages. We chose fish dishes, a specialty here, as we do not eat other meats, and were extremely happy with our choices, which were cooked just through and enhanced with subtle sauces and crisp vegetables. Do not miss Jesse’s Bistro if you are in Cirencester.
Reviewed 10 June 2013

“Food to Die for…”
We went to Jesse’s at the beginning of Feb 2013. It was my first time there and was pleaseantly surprised to see how big the place is.. but intimate. the layout was lovely, it was warm and the staff very friendly.. we opted for the homemade bread whilst ordering.. one of which had chocolate in it.. this was stunning! i had the Chicken Liver parfait for starters, whilst others had the Board of Prosciutto, shaved parmesan, all starters went down very well. For the main I had the Wild Mallard Pie.. it was divine..I have never tasted anything so good.. and am still hankering after some now… my husband had the 28 day hung steak..and again said it was the best he’d ever tasted.. the others also agreed, theire fish dishes and the lamb was perfect.. everything about this place was brilliant..the food, the chef, the waitress, the wine.. and the cheeseboard.. i would recommend this restaurant time and time again.. and cannot wait for my next visit! well done!!

“lovely evening.”
This was our first visit to this fab restaurant. We checked it out on trip advisor and we are so glad we chose to go there. The place is small and intimate, with lots of old style charm. You can see the chefs at work too. The starters were lovely, I had the chicken liver terrine and my husband had the sft shell crab. Both were delicious and an ample amount. I had the beef fillet and my husband opted for the rack of lamb, again beautiful food, good sized portions and nicely presented. Ir would be unfair not to mention the waitressses, they were lovely and very helpful. We will most definitely return with friends.

Reviewed 6 February 2013
I had a very good quality steak however, the price did not quite reflect what i expected. The quality of meat was great and the accompanying mushrooms where fantastic. The chips where ok, onion rings tasty but small. The only problem being the accompanying peppercorn sauce which in comparison was disappointing as it was very sweet and a let down to everything else it was clear that it was home made but just not quite in keeping with the quality of everything else. The staff where very helpful and offered to rectify it but it was not a big enough deal to make a fuss. I would recommend to anyone highly to go however, be prepared for it to cost a bit more than what you would think. The wine selection is good, but lack of mid range decent reds is noticeable. All being said great little restaurant, good atmosphere and staff.

10 September 2012
Jesse’s bistro is somewhat hidden down one of Cirencester’s interesting alleyways. We have had lunch there several times and have never been disappointed. Ingredients are fresh and cooked within sight of tables. The fish is particularly good.

7 September 2012
Enjoyed a lovely lunch in the quaint courtyard. Beautifully prepared,cooked and served by attentive waitresses and the patron. We will most certainly return

18 August 2012
to find the restaurant by luck and to have a meal with the yum factor great well done you can see the chef has talent and the food then speaks for itself. aa award well done but one the plate it should have got two rosettes but the service needs to match but the girls where great well done

13 August 2012
Took my wife to Jesse’s Bistro for lunch based purely on reviews here and what a good thing I did! The restaurant is nicely tucked away in Cirencester and the welcome warm and the food excellent! We are sure to go back again when we are next in the town. Great value for money and perfectly cooked food.

6 July 2012
Just had lunch there and much impressed by the friendly, efficient service and the quality of the food. They were happy to adjust my wife’s meal to suit her preference and were keen to ensure we enjoyed the whole experience. We will definitely go there again.

28 May 2012
Great ambiance, great food, sensible wine list, superb staff – can’t fault this little bistro just off Blackjack St.

21 May 2012
excellent local produce cooked to a high standard. good service lovely surroundings

19th August 2011
Jesse’s combined all the things we look for in a restaurant: good, mostly local ingredients well-cooked: tap water offered as first choice: unusual wines sold by the glass as well as the bottle; portions large enough to satisfy but small enough to leave space for a delicious pud.

16th May 2011
On walking in to the restaurant we were met by a delicious smell of fresh food cooking. After a lot of deliberation I settled upon a salmon dish for my starter and a chicken dish for my main course. We all thoroughly enjoyed our starters, my chicken breast was stuffed with a mushroom duxelle and served with sage gnocchi and a tarragon cream, one of our guests had a sirloin steak, which also earned high praise as one of the best he’s had in a long, long time. It was thick and succulent, and a perfect medium rare. The thick cut chips it came with almost had the consistency of really crunchy roast potatoes. My father opted for a lamb dish which as it turned out, was two different cuts, plus lamb’s liver – fantastic if you’re a meat lover! My mother chose a sea bass fillet, which came with an unusual champagne and caviar sauce. Both of them thoroughly enjoyed their choices as well, and there were clean plates all round. It would have been criminal not to try at least one dessert, having enjoyed everything else so much, so between the four of us, we had a sticky toffee pudding, served with vanilla ice cream and butterscotch sauce, and a selection of cheeses. The pudding was dense and moist, with just the right amount of chewy dates to give it texture and sweetness without overwhelming the flavour. The butterscotch sauce was obscenely rich and had a treacley flavour to it. Our meals really were exceptional, clearly having been painstakingly prepared using top quality produce, and the menu has obviously been put together by someone with an excellent palate who really knows their flavour combinations!

I will most certainly make a point of visiting Jesse’s again next time I am in the area, and would recommend any discerning diners to do the same!

Visit the full write up on Love to Dine

11th April 2011

Dear Andrew,

Just to tell you how much we enjoyed our first, and certainly not our last, visit to Jesse’s Bistro for lunch today.?The food was exceptional and the service was first class.  Best wishes to all the staff, keep up the good work.?Annabelle and James.

5th April 2011

Hi Andrew

We just got back from the Honeymoon and wanted to drop you an email just to say thanks for the wedding meal.  Everything was perfect and we really appreciate Jesse’s being a part of our special day.?All the staff were friendly and the service was excellent, not too much fussing and pressure, but plates were not left lying about and drinks were always flowing.  The meal was fabulous and exactly what we had hoped for.?Please pass our thanks on to everybody and we look forward to seeing you next year when we pop down for our anniversary!

With thanks
Karen & Richard

* Our reviews are taken from various sources including tripadvisor